Summer of a Thousand Pies

Summer of a Thousand Pies A heartfelt contemporary middle grade novel perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish and Fish in a Tree about a girl who is sent to live with her aunt and must try to save their f

  • Title: Summer of a Thousand Pies
  • Author: Margaret Dilloway
  • ISBN: 0062803468
  • Page: 425
  • Format: Hardcover
  • A heartfelt contemporary middle grade novel, perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish and Fish in a Tree, about a girl who is sent to live with her aunt and must try to save their failing pie shop.When twelve year old Cady Bennett is sent to live with the aunt she didn t even know she had in the quaint mountain town of Julian, she doesn t know what to expect Cady isn A heartfelt contemporary middle grade novel, perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish and Fish in a Tree, about a girl who is sent to live with her aunt and must try to save their failing pie shop.When twelve year old Cady Bennett is sent to live with the aunt she didn t even know she had in the quaint mountain town of Julian, she doesn t know what to expect Cady isn t used to stability, or even living inside, after growing up homeless in San Diego with her dad.Now she s staying in her mother s old room, exploring the countryside filled with apple orchards and pie shops, making friends, and working in Aunt Shell s own pie shop and soon, Cady starts to feel like she belongs Then she finds out that Aunt Shell s pie shop is failing Saving the business and protecting the first place she s ever really felt safe will take everything she s learned and the help of all her new friends But are there some things even the perfect pie just can t fix Summer of a Thousand Pies is a sweet and satisfying treat of a novel full of friendship, family, and, of course, pie Get A Copy Kindle Store Online StoresAudibleBarnes NobleWalmart eBooksApple BooksGoogle PlayAbebooksBook DepositoryIndigoAlibrisBetter World BooksIndieBoundLibraries Or buy for Hardcover, 384 pages Expected publication April 16th 2019 by Balzer Bray More Details ISBN 0062803468 ISBN13 9780062803467 Other Editio

    • ✓ Summer of a Thousand Pies × Margaret Dilloway
      425 Margaret Dilloway


    About “Margaret Dilloway

    • Margaret Dilloway

      Award Winning Books for Preteens and AdultsMargaret started writing stories in kindergarten Ever since then, she s used writing to understand the world and entertain people.She loves improv, attempting complicated baking recipes, hiking, and dollhouse miniatures.Awards MOMOTARO XANDER AND THE LOST ISLAND OF MONSTERS Winner of the American Library Association s Asian Pacific American Librarian Award Winning Books for Preteens and AdultsMargaret started writing stories in kindergarten Ever since then, she s used writing to understand the world and entertain people.She loves improv, attempting complicated baking recipes, hiking, and dollhouse miniatures.Awards MOMOTARO XANDER AND THE LOST ISLAND OF MONSTERS Winner of the American Library Association s Asian Pacific American Librarian Honor Award THE CARE AND HANDLING OF ROSES WITH THORNS American Library Association s Literary Tastes Award for Best Women s Fiction



    145 thoughts on “Summer of a Thousand Pies

    • E ARC provided by Edelweiss Plus After the death of her mother, Cady s father has found it hard to keep a job, stay away from alcohol, and to provide Cady with a stable home and supervision He has enrolled her in a very good school, and her teachers are understanding and supportive, but when she gets in trouble for defending another student and her father shows up to the office inebriated, Cady ends up with children s protective services They locate a sister of her mother s Cady didn t know ab E [...]



    • An excellent and engaging story about a young girl dealing with the effects of her father s mental illness and the ensuing instability When her father is arrested, twelve year old Cady is sent to live with her aunt, the proprietor of a pie shop Nestled in the mountains above San Diego, in the town of Julian, Shell s Pies is struggling to stay afloat As Cady and her aunt Shell navigate the boundaries of their burgeoning relationship, Shell simultaneously attempts to keep her shop in business An e [...]


    • This beautiful book is going to stay in my heart forever, and I already know will be one of my top favorites this year When Cady goes to live with her Aunt Shell after her father is arrested, her whole world flips She has a bed, a room, and there s always food There s also The Great British Bake Off to watch Through this summer of change, she vows to bake a thousand pies at her aunt s pie shop, befriends an undocumented family, thinks about her dad, and embraces this sweet exciting sma This beau [...]



    • This book is sweet and will help to start a conversation about a few of life s difficulties, including homelessness I really enjoyed the main character, Cady I think kids will identify with some of her fears even though they may not experience the same challenges she does Cady s story might also bring about compassion and understanding for those kids whose families might be struggling Plus, the pie references are great for anyone who likes to bake Recipes included DRC provided by the p This book [...]


    • This story absolutely charmed me Cady hasn t known a home for a long time Her mother died when she was little and she and her father have recently been experiencing homelessness in San Diego But when his troubles land him in jail, her estranged aunt Shell, her mother s sister, steps in to care for Cady Cady s resistant at first, and Shell and her partner Suzanne aren t exactly used to having a twelve year old around, but they bond over a love of pie and The Great British Bake Off Set in the This [...]


    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *